Our curriculum aims/intends to:

  • Provide a broad and balanced education for all pupils that’s coherently planned and sequenced towards (through 3 key drivers – Knowledge of the World, Possibilities and Environment) cumulatively sufficient knowledge for skills and future learning and employment

  • Enable pupils to develop knowledge, understand concepts and acquire skills, and be able to choose and apply these in relevant situations

  • Support pupils’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural development

  • Support pupils’ physical development and responsibility for their own health, and enable them to be active

  • Promote a positive attitude towards learning

  • Ensure equal access to learning for all pupils, with high expectations for every pupil and appropriate levels of challenge and support

  • Have a high academic/vocational/technical ambition for all pupils

  • Equip pupils with the knowledge and cultural capital they need to succeed in life

  • Promote the learning and development of our youngest children and ensure they are ready for Key Stage 1

  • All embodied through our GETFAB and High 5 rules and values




  1. Legislation and guidance

This policy reflects the requirements for academies to provide a broad and balanced curriculum as per the Academies Act 2010, and the National Curriculum programmes of study which we have chosen to follow.

It also reflects requirements for inclusion and equality as set out in the Special Educational Needs and Disability Code of Practice 2014 and Equality Act 2010, and refers to curriculum-related expectations of governing boards set out in the Department for Education’s Governance Handbook.

National Curriculum assessments are a series of educational assessments, colloquially known as SATs.  These are used to assess the attainment of children attending maintained schools in England. They comprise a mixture of teacher-led and test-based assessment depending on the age of the pupils.

Key Stage 1

During Year 2, teacher assessment is carried out in the core subjects of EnglishMathematics and Science. In English, teachers are required to record an assessment in the two strands of Reading and Writing. To assist teachers in arriving at an assessed grade, tests and tasks can be completed in reading, writing and mathematics.

Key Stage 2

During May in the final year of Key Stage 2, children in state-funded schools (and independent schools if they so choose) undertake three National Curriculum Tests: reading; spelling, grammar and punctuation and Mathematics. Science tests are taken by a selected sample of schools to monitor national performance in science. 

Writing, formerly a part of the test, is now assessed by teachers and is no longer part of the National Curriculum tests.

In addition to the tests, teachers are required to provide teacher assessments in the subjects tested.

These tests provide grades ranging from Working at below the standard of the tests to Working at Greater Depth.